Symposium Videos

Day 1 - September 30, 2021

Opening Session

The Opening Session video for the WILL Empower Womxn’s Labor Leadership Symposium that began on Sep 30, 2021. It features great stories by Essential Worker Fellows; presentations of womxn's labor history and authentic leadership practices with an intersectional approach. Guests Speakers: Mara Ventura & Sarah Woodham (United for Respect); Nikia Harmon (National Black Worker Center); Lane Windham (Georgetown) & Danielle T. Phillips Cunningham (Texas Women's University); Sheri Davis (Rutgers).

Leading for Innovative Strategies in Unprecedented Times

Highlights from the Leading for Innovative Strategies in Unprecedented Times plenary. Features:  Cindy Estrada (United Auto Workers), Stacy Davis-Gates (Chicago Teachers Union), Andrea Dehlendorf (United for Respect), Lauren Jacobs (PowerSwitch Action), Veronica Mendez-Moore (Centro de Trabajadores Unidos en la Lucha-CTUL), Andrea Mercado (Florida Rising), Liz Perlman (AFSCME 3299) and April Verrett (SEIU 2015). Moderated by Sarita Gupta (Ford Foundation, Future of Workers).

Day 2 - October 1, 2021

Awards Ceremony Part I

Inspirational speeches by President Liz Shuler (AFL-CIO), a memorial tribute, and a spoken word poem by Jasmyne Sims.

Awards Ceremony Part II

Inspirational speeches by Exec. Dir. Greisa Matinez (United We Dream) the Essential Worker Award winner Juana Armijo; VP Princess Moss (NEA) and the Youth/Org Award Winners Marshe Doss, Jade Hurley, and Unified Outreach Org.

Awards Ceremony Part III

Inspirational speeches and performance by the Resistance Revival Choir, Sec-Treas. Elissa McBride (AFSCME) the Behind-the-Scenes Award Winner Cherika Carter (WA State Labor Council), and the Game Changer Award Winner Erica Iheme (Jobs to Move America).

Awards Ceremony Part IV

Video presentation of the Lifetime Achievement Award for Exec. Dir. Marilyn Sneiderman (CIWO). It highlights the Edna Berger Young Courageous Leader Award Winners Chynna Baldwin (The Community Care Collective) & Angeles Solis (Make the Road NY). Closing performance by the Resistance Revival Choir.