The Labor and Employment Relations Association (LERA) named Adrienne Eaton, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor of Labor Studies and Employment Relations, a 2017 LERA Fellow in recognition of her research on union and worker participation in management decision-making; neutrality and card check agreements in union organizing; and other key labor issues. She accepted the award at LERA’s 69th annual conference in Anaheim, California on June 3.            Eileen Applebaum, former Director of the Center for Women and Work, and John F.... read more

The New York Times, The Los Angeles Times, The Guardian (UK), and more than 40 other publications on five continents wrote about a SMLR-led study of accessibility in the sharing economy. The research by Mason Ameri, IRHR ’17, Sean Rogers, IRHR ’13, Professor Lisa Schur, and Distinguished Professor Douglas Kruse found that many Airbnb hosts close the door on people with disabilities.   Joseph Blasi, the J. Robert Beyster Distinguished Professor, wrote two op-eds for Fortune based on his employee ownership research: How Southwest Airlines and Others are Creating a New Breed of... read more

Shiloh Butterworth, LER '15 helped to institute a paid wellness leave program at his Oregon-based engineering firm, PAE. The program enables employees to receive up to six weeks of full pay while bonding with a new child or caring for a seriously ill loved one. Read more about Butterworth and PAE in this Inc. article.         Monika Navandar, MHRM '13 received a Global Diversity and Inclusion Leadership Award at the World HRD Congress' 25th Anniversary Conference in Mumbai, India. She was a Keynote Speaker as well as a Moderator in the Diversity... read more

The Berger-Marks Foundation awarded $843,000 to SMLR’s Center for Innovation in Worker Organization (CIWO) to build women’s leadership in unions as part of a joint project with Georgetown University’s Kalmanovitz Initiative for Labor and the Working Poor. The funds include a $668,000 Legacy Gift and $175,000 to establish an annual awards program. Additional details will be announced in the coming weeks.   SMLR has acquired the rights to the Foundation for Enterprise Development’s award-winning documentary, We The Owners: Employees Expanding the American Dream. In this landmark film... read more

James Hayton will step down as Dean on June 30 for family reasons. Adrienne Eaton, who currently serves as Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, will become Acting Dean on July 1. Douglas Kruse, Distinguished Professor and the J. Robert Beyster Faculty Fellow, will succeed Eaton. Read more about the leadership change here.      Charles Fay, Professor of Human Resource Management, is stepping down as Director of Undergraduate Programs. During his five-year term, Fay oversaw the rapid growth of the Bachelor of HRM. Hazel-Anne Johnson, Assistant Teaching Professor of... read more