SMLR Students, Faculty Win Major Awards

By Steve Flamisch

(L to R) Thea Zaferellis, Christopher Ramos,
Barry Boeker, Adam Opitz, Yasmin Aminyarr,
Adviser William Dwyer, and Ramon Paulino
accepted the LERA Chapter Star Award.

Two student groups and five faculty members in the Rutgers School of Management and Labor Relations received prestigious awards from the nation’s top labor and HR professional associations this summer.

At the Labor and Employment Relations Association (LERA) meeting in Baltimore, scarlet fireworks lit up the night sky over Camden Yards to recognize the student members of RU LERA for their Chapter Star Award and the following faculty members for individual awards:

  • William Dwyer, Teaching Instructor, Outstanding Practitioner Award
  • Janice Fine, Associate Professor, Susan C. Eaton Outstanding Scholar-Practitioner Award
  • Rebecca Kolins Givan, Associate Professor, Susan C. Eaton Research Grant Award
  • Tobias Schulze-Cleven, Assistant Professor, John T. Dunlop Outstanding Scholar Award
  • Paula Voos, Professor, LERA Fellow

(L to R) Diana Erazo-Sanchez, Ben
Ozdemir, Amanpreet Pall, Adviser
David Ferio, and Melanie Rutkowski
accepted the SHRM Outstanding
Student Chapter Award.

In Chicago, the Society of Human Resource Management (SHRM) recognized the graduate student chapter of RU SHRM with an Outstanding Student Chapter Award for the seventh consecutive year and the eighth time in the last nine years. The group’s adviser, Associate Teaching Professor David Ferioreceived SHRM’s Adviser of the Year Award in 2017.

In a recent article for, writer Liz Alterman profiled SMLR’s Master of Human Resource Management program and noted the hands-on experience and networking opportunities available to both graduate and undergraduate members of RU SHRM.