2024 Joyce Rothschild Book Prize - Call for Nominations

The Institute for the Study of Employee Ownership and Profit Sharing seeks nominations for the 2024 Joyce Rothschild Book Prize. Books that have been published between 2020 and 2023 are eligible for nomination. Authors are also encouraged to self-nominate. 

The award is intended to honor a book (or edited volume) that makes a significant contribution to the advancement of economic democracy. That advancement could be to our theoretical understanding, to research, or to the real-world development of employee share ownership, workers’ cooperative ownership, profit sharing, or any newly emergent form of workers’ ownership and/or democratic governance in the economic sphere. The book must have appeared in print by an independent publisher either as a hard cover or paperback or both in these years. Books that have only appeared digitally are not eligible. 

The 2024 prize will be awarded in January 2024. The final awardee(s) will receive a cash prize and be asked to record or give a presentation about their book at an Institute conference. 

All nominations should be submitted via this link by 11:59pm October 13, 2023. This is our recommended method for submitting nominations. If you prefer, you may instead email your nomination to BOTH Adria Scharf and Douglas Kruse by that date:  adria.scharf@rutgers.edu, dkruse@smlr.rutgers.edu

Nominators will receive a confirmation of their nomination and nominated authors will be notified of their nomination. Note that a book will only be considered if an approved PDF of the book is submitted as part of the nomination process. If the nominator has not already submitted a PDF of the book, the author will be required to do so, in order to be considered for the prize.   

A perpetual endowment in support of the book prizes has been established at Rutgers University’s School of Management and Labor Relations. In alternate years, the book prize will honor William Foote Whyte and Kathleen King Whyte and then Joyce Rothschild.