Press Release: Studying Ways to Boost Middle Class Incomes, Rutgers Unveils 2017-18 Class of Employee Ownership Research Fellows

PISCATAWAY, N.J. (June 22, 2017) – The Rutgers School of Management and Labor Relations today announced the recipients of 14 academic research fellowships to advance the study of broad-based employee stock ownership, equity compensation, gain sharing, profit sharing, and worker cooperatives. The fellows will be introduced next week in La Jolla, California during the annual Beyster Symposium, which brings together the world’s leading experts on capital shares for the middle class.

“Incomes have declined or stagnated for most middle class families since the 1970s, but research shows that workers who own a piece of their company can build significant wealth,” said Joseph Blasi, the J. Robert Beyster Distinguished Professor and director of the fellowship program. “By studying the mechanisms of capital shares, we hope to inform public policy on an issue that could help millions of American workers.”

Documentary filmmaker Mary Ann Beyster and her father, the late scientist and entrepreneur J. Robert Beyster, established the fellowship program and endowed professorship in 2008. With continued support from the Beyster family and their Foundation for Enterprise Development, as well as other donors across the country, the research fellowship program has grown to become one of the largest at Rutgers University. The Louis O. Kelso Fellowships are supported by the Employee Ownership Foundation.

The program’s network now includes more than 120 fellows and faculty mentors at colleges, universities, and research centers worldwide. The newest fellows, appointed through a national competition, are:

  • Marjorie Kelly, The Democracy Collaborative, J. Robert Beyster Fellow
  • Teresa Boyer, Villanova University, Louis O. Kelso Fellow
  • Alex Brill, American Enterprise Institute, Louis O. Kelso Fellow
  • David Calnitsky, University of Manitoba, Louis O. Kelso Fellow
  • Suzanne Cromlish, Saint Xavier University, Louis O. Kelso Fellow
  • Joo Han, Rutgers School of Management and Labor Relations, Louis O. Kelso Fellow
  • Jessica Bonanno, The Democracy Collaborative, Rutgers Research Fellow
  • Francesco Bova, University of Toronto, Joseph Cabral Distinguished Scholar and Fellow
  • Saehee Kang, Rutgers School of Management and Labor Relations, Corey Rosen Fellow
  • Nancy Kurland, Franklin & Marshall College, Kevin Ruble Fellow in Conscious Capitalism
  • Chris Mackin, Rutgers School of Management and Labor Relations, Ray Carey Fellow
  • Jonathan Michie, University of Oxford, Senior Fellow
  • Paige Ouimet, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, Senior Fellow
  • Nancy Wiefek, National Center for Employee Ownership, Robert W. Edwards Fellow for the Advanced Study of Employee Stock Ownership

“We are excited to welcome these scholars to our worldwide network of research fellows,” said Distinguished Professor Douglas Kruse, the J. Robert Beyster Faculty Fellow and associate director of the fellowship program. "Inclusive capitalism is one approach that can contribute to middle class prosperity, and this research will help us to gain an even better understanding of how it works.”

Blasi, Kruse, and Harvard University Professor Richard Freeman co-authored the book The Citizens Share: Reducing Inequality in the 21st Century. They will serve as faculty mentors, along with senior scholars from other universities.

Press Contact

Steve Flamisch, Rutgers School of Management and Labor Relations

848.252.9011 (cell),

About Us

Rutgers School of Management and Labor Relations is the world’s leading source of expertise on managing and representing workers, designing effective organizations, and building strong employment relationships.