SMLR Proudly Celebrates the Class of 2014

SMLR held its 11th annual Convocation at the Louis Brown Athletic Center. More than 400 students attended the ceremony to receive their degrees. Student speakers and SMLR graduates included Maham Mukhtar, MHRM; Hijira Ali, MLER; Divya Patibandla, HRM; and Eric LeGrand, LSER graduate and former Scarlet Knight, who led the procession.

Ph.D. program graduates Sean Rogers, Mee Sook Kim and Anne-Laure Winkler attend SMLR Convocation on May 17, 2014 and university Commencement on May 18.

Attendees were treated to performances by the Rutgers Glee Club and the Rutgers University Brass Band.  Professor Joseph McCune was honored as the recipient of the James R. Chelius Award for Excellence in Teaching. In addition to their degrees, graduates received special medallions to commemorate their membership into the SMLR 20th anniversary graduating class.

Prior to the ceremony, SMLR held its annual recognition dinner at the Livingston Dining Commons. Several distinguished guests were honored for their support of the school. Honorees included Sidney Seligman, chief human resources office and senior vice president at Barnabas Health; Professor Emeritus and former SMLR Dean John F. Burton, Jr.; Melissa Daniel, MLER ’01, chairperson of the SMLR Alumni and Friends Association; and Doug Duncan, MHRM ’01 president of Your HR Solutions.

Special guests included Ruchi Sinha, MHRM ’09, MLER ’10, SMLR alumni president; Joe Walsh, manager of academic programs, Western Monmouth Higher Education Center; Lora Fong, a member of Rutgers’ Board of Governors; Ronald Garutti, a member of Rutgers’ Board of Trustees; and Walter Leib, a member of Rutgers’ Board of Trustees and Professor Emeritus.

Marshalls and Gonfalon included Melissa Daniel, MLER ’01, chairperson of the SMLR Alumni and Friends Association; Janice DiLella, MHRM ’11 and MLER ’10; Betzaida (Betsy) Feliciano-Berrios, MPA '06, associate dean, University College; Amy Bahruth, part-time lecturer (former assistant instructor); and Amanda Choo, MHRM ’12.

Congratulations to the class of 2014!